Annual Meeting

83rd Annual Membership Meeting

Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 5:30 PM

Join Us on May 24, 2018

March 12, 2018

Dear Affinity Member,

The 83rd Annual Meeting of the Membership of Affinity Federal Credit Union will be held on Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 5:30 pm at 73 Mountainview Boulevard, Basking Ridge, NJ. During the business meeting, the election of Directors will take place and results will be announced.

The election of Directors will be conducted by mail ballot, unless there is only one nominee for each position to be filled. In accordance with the Credit Union bylaws, when the number of nominees equals the number of vacancies, nominees are considered elected by general acclamation. If a mail ballot election is required, ballots will be mailed to eligible members by April 12, 2018. To be eligible to vote, members must have a minimum of $5 in a membership eligibility account, be at least 16 years of age and be a member in good standing as of March 31, 2018.

Nominations will not be accepted from the floor at the Annual Meeting. Nominations for election may be made only by the Nominating Committee or by petition. Petitions for nomination must be signed by one percent of the Membership and accompanied by a signed certificate from the petitioner stating that he or she is agreeable to being nominated and will serve if elected. Each petitioner must also submit a statement of qualifications and biographical data with his or her petition. Completed petitions must be received by the Credit Union’s office at 73 Mountainview Boulevard, P.O. Box 621, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920, by midnight April 15, 2018.

To be considered for a position on the Board, candidates must be an Affinity member and should possess a strong willingness to serve, plus significant financial, managerial and leadership expertise. Each person must be willing to dedicate much of his or her time and energy to this volunteer position. For petition forms and additional information, contact the Office of the CEO, Affinity Federal Credit Union.

Credit Union members Richard Meene, G. Christopher Haskell and Inder Singh served on the 2017-2018 Nominating Committee; I served as the Committee Chairman. The Nominating Committee’s primary responsibility is to recommend candidates deemed most qualified to carry out the Credit Union mission. Nominees have been selected based upon demonstrated leadership qualities and their commitment to the goals of the Credit Union. There are three positions to be filled, and the Nominating Committee has nominated three candidates, whose names and brief biographies appear on the next pages.


Gregory T. Simpson
Secretary, Board of Directors

Board Nominees

John McGovern, Chairman of the Board
John McGovern is Chief Financial Officer for Star2Star Communications, a privately held Unified Communications company, where he leads the accounting, collections, purchasing, warehousing, and financial planning and analysis functions.
John spent the first twenty seven years of his career at the Avaya/Lucent/AT&T family of companies. Beginning in an entry level position, John worked his way to the role of Group Finance Vice President and Divisional CFO at Avaya. After leaving Avaya, John became Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Glowpoint, a managed video services company, where he drove operational improvement and listed the company on the New York Stock Exchange. After Glowpoint, he became Chief Financial Officer at Strategic Products and Services, a privately held multi-vendor System Integrator for Unified Communication, where he revamped financial reporting and analytics for the organization and implemented new accounting, purchasing and collections processes and systems.
John holds a Master of Science degree in Management from the College of Saint Elizabeth and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Kean University. He is a member of the Board of Directors for Affinity Federal Credit Union and currently serves as Chairman.

Michael Rec, Vice Chair
Michael Rec is the General Manager of Nokia’s Next Generation Messaging, Multimedia Video & Voice, and Intelligent Network applications portfolio.  In this role, he is responsible developing, expanding, and managing the lifecycle of these globally deployed applications, its R&D and marketing programs, and overall P&L.  He has over 25 years’ experience in the communications industry and has held numerous senior leadership roles in R&D, Product Management, Finance, and Corporate Strategy. Michael has an MBA from Columbia University, Master of Engineering degree in Electrical Engineering from Cornell University, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Northeastern University.

Jennifer Ho, Director
Jennifer has been a member of the Board of Directors for over 8 years. She served as Chair of the Compensation and Objectives Committee, Volunteer Development Committee and Nominating Committee.   During her career, Ms. Ho has worked in finance, treasury, marketing, M&A and private equity investments. As a real estate finance lead with Marsh & McLennan Company, she is responsible for the financial management of the real estate portfolio.  She holds an MBA from MIT Sloan School of Management.